Girl on PA TV: "By the blood of the youth, Jerusalem will come back to us"

10/06/2012 20:33

PATV girlOn a children's program, Palestinian Authority TV broadcast a girl singing a song anticipating the defeat of Israel in battle. The opening of the song demonizes Israel as an oppressor that took the young girl prisoner, thereby preventing her from attending "school" and playing "games": Israel "took my book away... tied me up, blindfolded me and threw me in a tank."

The end of the song encourages youth to take part in "free[ing] every inch from the foreigner's clutch," and promotes sacrificing themselves "by the blood of the youth," so that "Jerusalem will return to us."

[PA TV (Fatah, Sept. 8, 2012]

Click to view

The aspiration to die for "Palestine" was also presented as a goal for children in another song, performed by young children and youth in front of senior PA leaders, including Prime Minister Salam Fayyad, at a PA-Fatah celebration in January this year:

"How beautiful you are, my country...
You waited patiently and discovered your heroic children
Oh, my pure land, I shall saturate you with my blood
I shall live and die upon your green ground...
I shall redeem you with my life, oh my land"
[PA TV (Fatah), Jan. 5, 2012]

Click to view

In a song with a similar message, PA TV told children:

"Oh children of the stones,
teach the sinners [Israel] that shooting doesn't scare you,
that your dignity is preserved,
and that death for the sake of the country is not terror."
 

Share |
Google+